FIFA World Cup 2022: Groups & schedule

The groups and matches of the Qatar World Cup have been decided. The groups that emerged in today’s draw are the ones that give football fans the most excitement. The fight in Group E, Group F and Group H will be the most exciting.

Hosts Qatar are in Group A. Qatar is joined by the Netherlands, Senegal and Ecuador. Group B includes England, the United States, Iran and the European play – off winners.

In Group C, Messi’s Argentina are joined by Mexico, Poland and Saudi Arabia. Current champions France are in Group D. France will be joined by Denmark and Tunisia, as well as a team that has won the Intercontinental Playoffs. It will be one of the teams in Australia, UAE and Peru.

Spain is in Group E. This group will not be an easy group at all. Germany is also in this group. There will be a strong Japanese team in Asia and a team that wins the Opel Intercontinental Playoffs. It will be the winner of the competition between Costa Rica and New Zealand.

Belgium, who reached the semi-finals of the last World Cup, are in Group F. Croatia, the runners-up in last year’s World Cup, are also in Group F. The group also includes African powers Morocco. And there will be Canada, who reached the World Cup after a long absence.

Brazil, who have won the most World Cups, are in Group G. Brazil is joined by Switzerland, Serbia and Cameroon.

Cristiano Ronaldo’s Portugal will play in Group H. Portugal and Uruguay are in the group. There are Korea and Ghana.

Qatar will host the World Cup in November and December this year. The tournament starts on November 21 and runs until December 18.

England will come up against USA, Iran and either Wales, Scotland or Ukraine in the group stage, while Spain and Germany will face off with a number of mouthwatering ties awaiting us in the winter.

England potentially face a first-ever ‘Battle of Britain’ at a World Cup finals.

The Three Lions will be up against either Scotland, Wales or Ukraine in the group stage, with that play-off path still to be settled in June due to the Russian invasion of Ukraine.

Gareth Southgate’s men will kick off Group B on the tournament’s opening day against Iran, a side they have never faced in a senior competitive international.

They will also face the United States, who they have met twice in the World Cup finals – in 1950 and 2010 – but never beaten.

If they get through their group, England would face one of hosts Qatar, Holland, Ecuador or Senegal in the last 16.

Elsewhere, Group E pitted two former world champions Spain and Germany against each other.

Belgium take on fellow 2018 World Cup semi-finalists Croatia in Group F, while reigning champions France take on Denmark, Tunisia and the winner of intercontinental play-off one, which will be one of Australia, the United Arab Emirates and Peru.

  • Group A: Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal, Netherlands
  • Group B: England, Iran, USA, Wales/Scotland/Ukraine
  • Group C: Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland
  • Group D: France, UAE/Australia/Peru, Denmark, Tunisia
  • Group E: Spain, Costa Rica/New Zealand, Germany, Japan
  • Group F: Belgium, Canada, Morocco, Croatia
  • Group G: Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland, Cameroon
  • Group H: Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay, South Korea

World Cup 2022: Key dates for finals

The tournament will kick off on Monday, November 21 with holders Qatar playing in the first match against Ecuador in Group A.

England, having been drawn first in Group B, will also play on the opening day of the tournament.

The group stage will run until Friday, December 2 with the first of the knockout games starting the following day on Saturday, December 3.

The final will then be held at the 80,000-seater Lusail Iconic Stadium on Sunday, December 18.

  • November 21: World Cup starts
  • December 3/6: Round of 16
  • December 9/10: Quarter-finals
  • December 13/14: Semi-finals
  • December 18: World Cup final


Check Also

Brazil 4–0 Chile: 5 talking points as Selecao continues his impeccable qualification campaign with an easy victory

Brazil defeats Chile in World Cup qualifier Brazil won by four goals to one. At …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.