Winning match for the 1000th match; India beat West Indies by 6 wickets

India’s 1000th ODI appearance ended on a winning note as the hosts scripted a six-wicket win over West Indies in the series opener at the Narendra Modi Stadium on Sunday.

India chased the target of 177 in 28 overs to win the first ODI against West Indies. Spinners Yuzvendra Chahal and Washington Sundar shared seven wickets between them to wrap up the guest team’s innings at 176 in 43.5 overs taking a 1-0 series lead.

It was the 1000th match for India in the 50-over format. Yuzvendra Chahal has been adjudged the Man of the Match for his bowling figures of 4/49.

Captain Rohit Sharma brought up his 44th ODI half-century. Sharma took a special liking to Kemar Roach, smashing the pacer for boundaries through mid-on and mid-off in the eighth over.

Team India members also observed a minute silence before the start of play to pay their respects to Bharat Ratna Lata Mangeshkar, the legendary singer who passed away today leaving the entire nation in a state of mourning.

Indian leap at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad to mark the 1000th victory in international cricket. India won the match by seven wickets. Batting first, West Indies were bowled out for 176 in 43.5 overs. Captain Rohit Sharma led India to victory with 28 overs and six wickets in hand.

Rohit hit 60 off 51 balls with 10 fours and a six. This gave India a 1–0 lead in the three-match series. Rohit Sharma’s start as a full – time captain of India.

Rohit, along with Ishant Kishan, put on 84 for the opening wicket to give India a solid start. The duo added 84 runs in 13.1 overs. Ishant Kishan was dismissed for 28 off 36 balls.

Virat Kohli (eight off four balls) and Rishabh (11 off nine balls) were the main contributors, but Suryakumar Yadav (34 * off 36 balls) and debutant Deepak Hooda (26 * off 32 balls) helped India to victory. Alsari Joseph took two of the four wickets India lost. Akil Hussain took one wicket. Rishabh was running the ball.

  • ‘Turned around’ India

Earlier, India, led by spinners, bowled out the West Indies in the excitement of their Twenty20 series win over England. India won the toss and elected to field, dismissing the Windies for 176 in 43.5 overs. For India, Yousevendra Chehal took four wickets and Washington Sunder three.

At one stage, the West Indies were 79 for seven in 22.5 overs when Jason Holder and Fabian Allen put on a half-century for the eighth wicket. Holder became their top scorer for the lone half-century of the Windies innings. Earnings 57 runs. Fabian Allen scored 29 runs. The duo added 78 runs for the eighth wicket.

Holder hit 71 off 71 balls with four sixes. Fabian Alana, on the other hand, scored 51 off 43 balls with two fours.

Meanwhile, the Windies line-up was disappointed, including captain Cayenne Pollard. Pollard Yusvendra Chehal hits the Golden Duck. Shy Hope (eight off 10 balls), Brendon King (13 off 26 balls), Darren Bravo (18 off 34 balls), Shamar Brooks (12 off 26 balls), Nicholas Puran (18 off 25 balls), Akhil Hussain (0) and Alzari Joseph (16 off 16 balls) were the main contributors. The performance of the other West Indies players was 13).

For India, Yusvendra Chehal took four wickets for 49 runs in 9.5 overs. Washington Sunder took three wickets for 30 runs in 9 overs. Prasidh Krishna took two wickets for 29 runs in 10 overs. Mohammad Siraj took one wicket.

  • Toss India in the 1000th ODI

Rohit Sharma, who made his debut as a full-time Indian captain, won the toss and elected to field. All-rounder Deepak Hooda makes his Indian debut.

India XI: Rohit Sharma (capt), Ishant Kishan, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant (wicket keeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Washington Sunder, Shardul Thakur, Yusvendra Chehal, Prasidh Krishna, Mohammad Siraj

West Indies XI: Brendon King, Shy Hope (wicket-keeper), Shamer Brooks, Darren Bravo, Nicholas Puran, Cayenne Pollard (captain), Jason Holder, Fabian Allen, Alsari Joseph, Kemar Roach, Akil Hussain.


Check Also

IPL 2022: Kolkata Knight Riders will take on Chennai Super Kings in the first match

Today marks the start of a new season for the IPL. Kolkata Knight Riders will …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.