New Zealand set a target of 154 runs for India, Harshal Patel’s dream debut

India won by seven wickets in the second Twenty20 against New Zealand. India chased down New Zealand’s target of 154 with 16 balls to spare. India won the three-match series with their second win. K.L. Rahul and Rohit Sharma combined for a century to give India an easy victory.

The opening partnership was 117 for India. Both completed half-centuries. Rahul (65 off 49 balls) and Rohit Sharma (55 off 36 balls) were the top scorers. Captain Rohit hit five sixes and a four against the Kiwis. Rahul hit two sixes and six fours. Surya Kumar Yadav was dismissed for one but Venkatesh Iyer (12) and Rishabh Pant (12) were the main contributors to India’s victory in 7.2 overs. India won the first match by five wickets in Jaipur. The final match of the series will be played on Sunday in Kolkata.

New Zealand 6 for 153

New Zealand lost the toss and opted to bat, scoring 153 for six in the allotted 20 overs. The Kiwis batted behind after scoring 64 runs for the loss of one wicket in six overs in the power play. Glenn Phillips was the Kiwis’ top scorer with 34 off 21 balls, including a four and three sixes. Herschelle Patel, who made his international debut with just 31 days to go, led India in a brilliant innings. Patel took two wickets for 25 runs in four overs.

Martin Guptill (31 off 15 balls), Daryl Mitchell (31 off 28 balls), Mark Chapman (21 off 17 balls) and Tim Seafert (13 off 15 balls) also shone for New Zealand. Jimmy Neesham was the only batsman to score three runs off 12 balls. Mitchell Santner (eight off nine balls) and Adam Milne (five off four balls) failed to lift the run chase in the final overs.

For India, Herschelle Patel took two wickets for 25 runs in four overs. Ravichandran Ashwin took one wicket for 19 runs in four overs and Akshar Patel took one wicket for 26 runs in four overs. Bhuvneshwar Kumar took 39 runs in four overs and Deepak Chahar took 42 runs in four overs.

India vs New Zealand 2nd T20: In the second T20 being played in Ranchi, New Zealand set a target of 154 runs in front of India after playing first. Martin Guptill and Darrell Mitchell gave New Zealand a stormy start, but by bowling brilliantly in the end overs, India stopped the Kiwi team from making a big score. Glenn Phillips scored the highest 34 runs for New Zealand. While Martin Guptill and Darren Mitchell played 31-31 innings.

Guptill-Mitchell got off to a stormy start

Martin Guptill and Darrell Mitchell gave New Zealand a stormy start after losing the toss and opting to bat first. Both added 48 runs for the first wicket in 4.2 overs. Guptill was dismissed for 31 runs with the help of three fours and two sixes. During this, Guptill’s strike rate was 206.67. At the same time, Mitchell scored 31 runs in 28 balls.

New Zealand’s score in the power play was beyond 60. At the same time, the Kiwi team had scored 80 runs in 9 overs. After this, the Indian bowlers made a great comeback and took wickets at regular intervals. During this, Mark Chapman 21, Glenn Phillips 34, Tim Seifert 13 and James Neeson were dismissed for 03 runs.

At the same time, debut man Harshal Patel bowled brilliantly for India. He took two wickets for just 25 runs in his four overs. Apart from this, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Deepak Chahar and Bhuvneshwar Kumar got one success each. India had won the first T20. In such a situation, if the Kiwi team loses, then there will be a series in the name of India.


Check Also

IPL 2022: Kolkata Knight Riders will take on Chennai Super Kings in the first match

Today marks the start of a new season for the IPL. Kolkata Knight Riders will …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.