England – New Zealand today in the first semi-final of the Twenty20 World Cup

    England and New Zealand will lock horns on Wednesday (November 10) for the first time in an ICC knockout game since the 2019 ODI World Cup final. While England will aim to reach their third final of the ICC men’s T20 World Cup, New Zealand will look to heal the wounds of the final loss in the 2019 showpiece event against the Old Blighty.

    By doing so, New Zealand will also aim to reach the finals of the T20 World for the first time since the inception of the event in 2007. It may be recalled that New Zealand are the champions of the World Test Championship beating India in the final earlier this year in Southampton.

    England topped Group 1 and knocked opponents South Africa out of the tournament last week.
    On the other hand, New Zealand sealed their place in the 2021 semi-finals in style courtesy of a comfortable eight-wicket win over Afghanistan in Abu Dhabi.

     In the 2019 ODI World Cup final, the tournament witnessed a first-ever Super Over in which England defeated New Zealand to lift their maiden title on the basis of boundary countback rule at the Lord’s Cricket Ground.

    The 50-over game between England and New Zealand ended in a tie and the teams then took the field for the Super Over. In the Super Over, both teams managed to score 15 runs each but England was announced as the winner as they had hit more boundaries in the allotted overs.

    In case semifinal games are tied, a Super Over will be played and if that also doesn’t help in deciding the winner then another Super Over shall be staged until there is a clear winner.

    As per ICC, after a tie, weather conditions prevent the Super Over from being completed, or if the match is abandoned or a no result, then the side that finished first in its Super 12s Group will progress to play the summit clash.
    While New Zealand is coming on the back of a win in the semi-finals, England have their feet on the ground following a first defeat of the tournament last week.

    England will be without the services of Jason Roy who was forced off with a calf injury having made 20 off 16 balls as England looked to chase down 189 in their last Super 12 stage match.

    Emotions and excitement will be all-time high on Wednesday when the two teams face each other in what is being touted as a mouth-watering clash between England and New Zealand.

    New Zealand under Kane Williamson have showed a remarkable, understated steel while Morgan’s England have been brilliantly collected. However, they would be harrowed by the absence of opener Jason Roy, who have been ruled out of the tournament with an injury.

    He had forged a fine partnership upfront with Jos Buttler in the tournament, more often than not giving a fine start to the team and it had gone a long way in keeping England way ahead of their opponents in the tournament.


    England Squad: Jos Buttler(w), Jonny Bairstow, Dawid Malan, Moeen Ali, Eoin Morgan(c), Sam Billings, Liam Livingstone, Chris Woakes, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood, David Willey, James Vince, Reece Topley, Tom Curran

    New Zealand Squad: Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, Kane Williamson(c), Devon Conway(w), Glenn Phillips, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult, Todd Astle, Kyle Jamieson, Tim Seifert, Mark Chapman


    The two teams have met on five earlier occasions in the T20 WC. England has the edge in the ICC event with three wins.

    In all Twenty20 international games combined as well, England enjoys an advantage with a 13:7 win ratio.


    With 457 runs, New Zealand opener Martin Guptill boasts incredible batting stats against England. Meanwhile, ENG skipper Eoin Morgan (424) has scored the most runs against the Kiwis.

    Stuart Broad has the most wickets against NZ – 14. Mitchell Santner is the top New Zealand wicket-taker with 16 scalps against England.


    Top scorer at 2021 T20 World Cup: Jos Buttler – 240
    Top wicket taker at 2021 T20 World Cup: Adil Rashid – 8

    Path to semi-final
    bt West Indies by 6 wickets
    bt Bangladesh by 8 wickets
    bt Australia by 8 wickets
    bt Sri Lanka by 26 runs
    lost to South Africa by 10 runs

    Top scorer at 2021 T20 World Cup: Martin Guptill – 176
    Top wicket taker at 2021 T20 World Cup: Trent Boult – 11

    Path to semi-final
    lost to Pakistan by 5 wickets
    bt India by 8 wickets
    bt Scotland by 16 runs
    bt Namibia by 52 runs
    bt Afghanistan by 8 wickets

    England wins: 13 (includes one win on super over after tie)
    New Zealand wins: 7

    Match info

    Match date: November 10, Wednesday.
    Match time: 7.30 PM IST Live
    Telecast: Star Sports Networks
    Live Streaming: Disney + Hot Star

    Related articles



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Share article

    Latest articles

    Champions League quarter-final: Liverpool beat Manchester City

    Manchester City beat Atletico Madrid 1-0 and Liverpool beat Benfica 3-1 in Portugal to begin the Champions League semi-finals. It was not...

    In-form Sindhu, Lakshya to lead Indian challenge in Korea Open

    India's Lakshya Sen won the first round of the Korea Open Badminton Championship. Lakshya defeated Ji Hoon Choi of Korea in a...

    Juventus 0-1 Inter: Inter Milan win Serie A giants today

    Inter breathed fresh life into their bid to retain their Serie A crown as Hakan Calhanoglu's first half penalty delivered a 1-0...

    FIFA World Cup 2022: Groups & schedule

    The groups and matches of the Qatar World Cup have been decided. The groups that emerged in today's draw are the ones...

    England beat South Africa to reach Women’s World Cup final; Will face Australia.

    England will play Australia in Sunday's World Cup final in Christchurch after career-best displays from opener Danni Wyatt and spinner Sophie Ecclestone...


    [tdn_block_newsletter_subscribe description=”U3Vic2NyaWJlJTIwdG8lMjBzdGF5JTIwdXBkYXRlZC4=” input_placeholder=”Your email address” btn_text=”Subscribe” tds_newsletter2-image=”753″ tds_newsletter2-image_bg_color=”#c3ecff” tds_newsletter3-input_bar_display=”row” tds_newsletter4-image=”754″ tds_newsletter4-image_bg_color=”#fffbcf” tds_newsletter4-btn_bg_color=”#f3b700″ tds_newsletter4-check_accent=”#f3b700″ tds_newsletter5-tdicon=”tdc-font-fa tdc-font-fa-envelope-o” tds_newsletter5-btn_bg_color=”#000000″ tds_newsletter5-btn_bg_color_hover=”#4db2ec” tds_newsletter5-check_accent=”#000000″ tds_newsletter6-input_bar_display=”row” tds_newsletter6-btn_bg_color=”#da1414″ tds_newsletter6-check_accent=”#da1414″ tds_newsletter7-image=”755″ tds_newsletter7-btn_bg_color=”#1c69ad” tds_newsletter7-check_accent=”#1c69ad” tds_newsletter7-f_title_font_size=”20″ tds_newsletter7-f_title_font_line_height=”28px” tds_newsletter8-input_bar_display=”row” tds_newsletter8-btn_bg_color=”#00649e” tds_newsletter8-btn_bg_color_hover=”#21709e” tds_newsletter8-check_accent=”#00649e” tdc_css=”eyJhbGwiOnsibWFyZ2luLWJvdHRvbSI6IjAiLCJkaXNwbGF5IjoiIn19″ embedded_form_code=”YWN0aW9uJTNEJTIybGlzdC1tYW5hZ2UuY29tJTJGc3Vic2NyaWJlJTIy” tds_newsletter1-f_descr_font_family=”521″ tds_newsletter1-f_input_font_family=”521″ tds_newsletter1-f_btn_font_family=”521″ tds_newsletter1-f_btn_font_transform=”uppercase” tds_newsletter1-f_btn_font_weight=”600″ tds_newsletter1-btn_bg_color=”#dd3333″ descr_space=”eyJhbGwiOiIxNSIsImxhbmRzY2FwZSI6IjExIn0=” tds_newsletter1-input_border_color=”rgba(0,0,0,0.3)” tds_newsletter1-input_border_color_active=”#727277″ tds_newsletter1-f_descr_font_size=”eyJsYW5kc2NhcGUiOiIxMiIsInBvcnRyYWl0IjoiMTIifQ==” tds_newsletter1-f_descr_font_line_height=”1.3″ tds_newsletter1-input_bar_display=”eyJwb3J0cmFpdCI6InJvdyJ9″ tds_newsletter1-input_text_color=”#000000″ tds_newsletter1-input_border_size=”eyJwb3J0cmFpdCI6IjEifQ==”]