England secured semi-final with fourth win

    England won the toss and elected to bat first. The Sri Lankans’ sixth-wicket partnership was bowled out for 19 in 19 overs when the hosts succumbed to a series of scary moments at the England camp.

    Charitha Asalanka and Bhanuka Rajapaksa tried to score fast but both lost their wickets quickly. Asalanka scored 21 and Rajapaksa 26 off the lowest balls.
    Falling to 76/5, Sri Lanka looked set to keep their chances alive later in the match. Vanindu Hasaranga and skipper Dasun Shanaka fell for the sixth wicket as Sri Lanka came close to scoring for England.
    The team scored 53 off 36 balls. Sri Lanka were bowled out for 35 off 19 balls by Vanindu Hasaranga, who scored 34 off 21 balls. Sri Lanka’s hopes were dashed soon after when captain Dasun Shanaka (26) was sent off.

    For England, Moin Ali, Adil Rashid and Chris Jordan took two wickets each.

    England Innings

    Roy b Hasaranga96109150
    Buttlernot out 1016766104150.75
    Malan b Chameera68101875
    Bairstowlbwb Hasaranga010040
    Morgan b Hasaranga40361367111.11
    M Alinot out 1200850
    Extras0nb 5w 0b 1lb6     
    Total(20.0 overs)163-for4wickets     

    C Karunaratne201708.5
    Fall of WicketBatter
    13-1 (1.2 overs)Roy
    34-2 (4.6 overs)Malan
    35-3 (5.2 overs)Bairstow
    147-4 (18.2 overs)Morgan

    Sri Lanka Innings

    Nissankarun out (Morgan) 11003100
    K Pererac Morganb Rashid79002477.78
    Asalankac M Alib Rashid21163113131.25
    Avishka Fernandolbwb Jordan1314102592.86
    Rajapaksac Royb Woakes26182232144.44
    Shanakarun out (Buttler) 26252155104
    Hasarangac subb Livingstone34213135161.9
    C Karunaratnec Royb M Ali0200130
    Chameerac Malanb Jordan44107100
    Theekshanac Jordanb M Ali22007100
    Kumaranot out 1200450
    Extras0nb 1w 0b 1lb2     
    Total(19.0 overs)137 all out

    M Ali301525
    Fall of WicketBatter
    1-1 (0.3 overs)Nissanka
    24-2 (3.3 overs)Asalanka
    34-3 (5.1 overs)K Perera
    57-4 (8.3 overs)Avishka Fernando
    76-5 (10.5 overs)Rajapaksa
    129-6 (16.5 overs)Hasaranga
    130-7 (17.2 overs)Shanaka
    134-8 (17.6 overs)Chameera
    134-9 (18.2 overs)C Karunaratne
    137-10 (18.6 overs)Theekshana

    EnglandSri Lanka
    Jason RoyPathum Nissanka
    Jos Buttler(wk)Kusal Perera(wk)
    Dawid MalanCharith Asalanka
    Jonny BairstowBhanuka Rajapaksa
    Eoin Morgan(c)Avishka Fernando
    Liam LivingstoneWanindu Hasaranga
    Moeen AliDasun Shanaka(c)
    Chris WoakesChamika Karunaratne
    Chris JordanDushmantha Chameera
    Adil RashidMaheesh Theekshana
    Tymal MillsLahiru Kumara

    Start Time:14:00
    Toss:Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to field
    Venue:Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah
    Officials:Adrian Holdstock, Rodney Tucker, Joel Wilson, Nitin Menon, David Boon

    Related articles



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Share article

    Latest articles

    Champions League quarter-final: Liverpool beat Manchester City

    Manchester City beat Atletico Madrid 1-0 and Liverpool beat Benfica 3-1 in Portugal to begin the Champions League semi-finals. It was not...

    In-form Sindhu, Lakshya to lead Indian challenge in Korea Open

    India's Lakshya Sen won the first round of the Korea Open Badminton Championship. Lakshya defeated Ji Hoon Choi of Korea in a...

    Juventus 0-1 Inter: Inter Milan win Serie A giants today

    Inter breathed fresh life into their bid to retain their Serie A crown as Hakan Calhanoglu's first half penalty delivered a 1-0...

    FIFA World Cup 2022: Groups & schedule

    The groups and matches of the Qatar World Cup have been decided. The groups that emerged in today's draw are the ones...

    England beat South Africa to reach Women’s World Cup final; Will face Australia.

    England will play Australia in Sunday's World Cup final in Christchurch after career-best displays from opener Danni Wyatt and spinner Sophie Ecclestone...


    [tdn_block_newsletter_subscribe description=”U3Vic2NyaWJlJTIwdG8lMjBzdGF5JTIwdXBkYXRlZC4=” input_placeholder=”Your email address” btn_text=”Subscribe” tds_newsletter2-image=”753″ tds_newsletter2-image_bg_color=”#c3ecff” tds_newsletter3-input_bar_display=”row” tds_newsletter4-image=”754″ tds_newsletter4-image_bg_color=”#fffbcf” tds_newsletter4-btn_bg_color=”#f3b700″ tds_newsletter4-check_accent=”#f3b700″ tds_newsletter5-tdicon=”tdc-font-fa tdc-font-fa-envelope-o” tds_newsletter5-btn_bg_color=”#000000″ tds_newsletter5-btn_bg_color_hover=”#4db2ec” tds_newsletter5-check_accent=”#000000″ tds_newsletter6-input_bar_display=”row” tds_newsletter6-btn_bg_color=”#da1414″ tds_newsletter6-check_accent=”#da1414″ tds_newsletter7-image=”755″ tds_newsletter7-btn_bg_color=”#1c69ad” tds_newsletter7-check_accent=”#1c69ad” tds_newsletter7-f_title_font_size=”20″ tds_newsletter7-f_title_font_line_height=”28px” tds_newsletter8-input_bar_display=”row” tds_newsletter8-btn_bg_color=”#00649e” tds_newsletter8-btn_bg_color_hover=”#21709e” tds_newsletter8-check_accent=”#00649e” tdc_css=”eyJhbGwiOnsibWFyZ2luLWJvdHRvbSI6IjAiLCJkaXNwbGF5IjoiIn19″ embedded_form_code=”YWN0aW9uJTNEJTIybGlzdC1tYW5hZ2UuY29tJTJGc3Vic2NyaWJlJTIy” tds_newsletter1-f_descr_font_family=”521″ tds_newsletter1-f_input_font_family=”521″ tds_newsletter1-f_btn_font_family=”521″ tds_newsletter1-f_btn_font_transform=”uppercase” tds_newsletter1-f_btn_font_weight=”600″ tds_newsletter1-btn_bg_color=”#dd3333″ descr_space=”eyJhbGwiOiIxNSIsImxhbmRzY2FwZSI6IjExIn0=” tds_newsletter1-input_border_color=”rgba(0,0,0,0.3)” tds_newsletter1-input_border_color_active=”#727277″ tds_newsletter1-f_descr_font_size=”eyJsYW5kc2NhcGUiOiIxMiIsInBvcnRyYWl0IjoiMTIifQ==” tds_newsletter1-f_descr_font_line_height=”1.3″ tds_newsletter1-input_bar_display=”eyJwb3J0cmFpdCI6InJvdyJ9″ tds_newsletter1-input_text_color=”#000000″ tds_newsletter1-input_border_size=”eyJwb3J0cmFpdCI6IjEifQ==”]