AUSTRALIA VS SRI LANKA LIVE SCORE (T20); Australia beat Sri Lanka by 7 wickets

Dubai: Australia won the Twenty20 World Cup Group One for the second time. Australia beat Sri Lanka by seven wickets in the first innings.
Australia won the toss and elected to bowl out Sri Lanka for 154 for six in 20 overs with 18 balls to spare.
Opener David Warner (65 off 42 balls) returned to form after a long absence. Captain Aaron Finch (37 off 23 balls), Steven Smith (26 *) and Marcus Stones (16 *) also shone. Glenn Maxwell (5) was out quickly.
Earlier in the day, Sri Lanka were bowled out for 78 in the 10th over. After losing four wickets for 16 runs, the Sri Lankans collapsed to 94 for five in the 13th over.

Spinner Adam Sampa and pacers Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins took two wickets apiece. Sampa is the man of the match.
Kushal Perera (35) and Charith Asalanka (35) gave Sri Lanka a good start. Pathum Nisanka (7) made a quick comeback and the duo combined to make it easy for the Sri Lankans to score. Perera provided great support to Asalanka, who continued his explosive form in the last match. The alliance fell apart when Asalanga was overthrown by Sampa. After Pereira, Vanindu Hazarenga (4), Starc and Avishka Fernando (4), Sampa returned to give Australia the lead.
Later, Bhanuka Rajapaksa (33 *) counter-attacked to give Sri Lanka a decent score. Rajapaksa’s rescue operation was carried out with the help of skipper Dasun Shanaka (12). Chamika Karunaratne (9 *) remained unbeaten with Rajapaksa.

AUS vs SL T20 World Cup 2021 Highlights: 
David Warner showed signs of returning back to form as he scored 65 off 42 balls, guiding Australia to a convincing win against Sri Lanka at the T20 World Cup in Dubai on Thursday evening. Chasing a challenging 155-run target, Warner along with skipper Aaron Finch got off to a brisk start as the pair added 70 runs for the first wicket. Finch was dismissed on 37 off 23 balls and soon after his dismissal Glenn Maxwell too returned to the pavilion. However, a good partnership between Warner and Steve Smith set the tone for Australia’s win before the Australian opener was dismissed on 65. Marcus Stoinis and Smith then completed the run-chase with three overs to spare. Meanwhile, after being invited to bat first Sri Lanka managed to post 154/6 in 20 overs. The team started off strong, adding 53/1 in the powerplay. However, some solid bowling by Australia, especially Adam Zampa in the middle overs helped them bounce back in the contest. Sri Lanka lost four wickets in the span of four overs, but a late blitz by Bhanuka Rajapaksa allowed Sri Lanka to post a respective total on the board. With the bat Kusal Perera and Charith Asalanka scored 35 each, while Rajapaksa finished the innings unbeaten on 33 off 26 balls. Among the bowlers, Zampa, Mitchell Starc, and Pat Cummins combined to pick two wickets each.   

 Related App: LENO TV APK

Australia 155/3(17.0ovs), RR – 9.12

David Warner 
c Bhanuka Rajapaksa b Dasun Shanaka
Aaron Finch
 b Wanindu Hasaranga
Glenn Maxwell
c Avishka Fernando b Wanindu Hasaranga
Steven Smith 
Not Out
Marcus Stoinis 
Not Out

Extras 4
B: 0, LB: 0, WD: 2, NB: 2, P: 0

155/3 (9.12 runs per over)

Did Not Bat:
Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

Fall of Wickets:
1-70 (Aaron Finch, 6.5 ov) , 2-80 (Glenn Maxwell, 8.3 ov) , 3-130 (David Warner, 15 ov)

Chamika Karunaratne20190019.50
Maheesh Theekshana40270006.75
Dushmantha Chameera303301011.00
Lahiru Kumara304800016.00
Wanindu Hasaranga40222105.50
Dasun Shanaka 1061016.00

Sri Lanka 154/6(20.0ovs), RR – 7.7

Pathum Nissanka 7 9 1 0 77.77 c David Warner b Pat Cummins791077.77
Kusal Perera (W) 35 25 4 1 140 b Mitchell Starc352541140
Charith Asalanka 35 27 4 1 129.62 c Steven Smith b Adam Zampa352741129.62
Avishka Fernando 4 7 0 0 57.14 c Steven Smith b Adam Zampa470057.14
Bhanuka Rajapaksa 33 26 4 1 126.92 Not Out332641126.92
Wanindu Hasaranga 4 2 1 0 200 c Matthew Wade b Mitchell Starc4210200
Dasun Shanaka 12 19 1 0 63.15 c Matthew Wade b Pat Cummins12191063.15
Chamika Karunaratne 9 6 1 0 150 Not Out9610150

Extras 15
B: 0, LB: 4, WD: 10, NB: 1, P: 0

154/6 (7.7 runs per over)

Did Not Bat:
Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Maheesh Theekshana

Fall of Wickets:
1-15 (Pathum Nissanka, 2.3 ov) , 2-78 (Charith Asalanka, 9.4 ov) , 3-86 (Kusal Perera, 10.3 ov) , 4-90 (Avishka Fernando, 11.5 ov) , 5-94 (Wanindu Hasaranga, 12.2 ov) , 6-134 (Dasun Shanaka, 17.4 ov)

Mitchell Starc40272016.75
Josh Hazlewood40260016.50
Pat Cummins40342128.50
Glenn Maxwell101600116.00
Marcus Stoinis303500111.66
Adam Zampa40122003.00


Check Also

IPL 2022: Kolkata Knight Riders will take on Chennai Super Kings in the first match

Today marks the start of a new season for the IPL. Kolkata Knight Riders will …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.